Windows 8 – Whither Backup and Restore?

After setting up Windows 8, I of course wanted to set up a backup. Under Windows 7, I used the built-in Windows Backup and Restore feature, so I promptly went to the Windows 8 Start screen and typed ‘backup’ and got two results under Settings:

image

 

OK, so “File History”. Let’s try that.

image

 

This doesn’t seem to allow the granular backup options that Backup and Restore had under Windows 7. Even the “Advanced settings” is somewhat dumbed down:

image

 

I was disappointed. So going back to the Start screen and searching ‘file’, I discovered Windows 7 File Recovery!

image

 

After running it, I found I had exactly what I was looking for:

image

 

So What Does All This Mean?

It looks as though Microsoft are moving to a simpler form of backup and recovery. My fear here is that so-called “power users” will lose the ability to perform a more detailed backup of their system.

For example, my backup settings look like this, based on having two partitions:

image

 

I do not seem to be able to setup such a backup scenario using the Windows 8 File History tool.

Leave a Reply

